Black & White Sunday: Unconditional Woof

Hangin woof

Some of you may remember one of Ellie’s best friends, Woof from a previous post. Back then he looked a lot more pristine and lovable. Today the signs of wear and tear are showing all over his squished (literally) body. He’s had numerous operations (we’ve sewn him back together a trillion times) and baths (shhh… washing machine) but the truth is there’s not much life left in the old dog.

gimme woof

We have replaced him, but still, Ellie doesn’t want to let him go! He is one of her ‘babies’. Ellie is a snuggable, loving dog and ever since she was a puppy she has chosen out a toy to ‘suckle’.

elli snuggle woof

She positions them ‘just so’ and squeezes their head between her jaws (cute? huh!… ahem), whilst pummeling their body with her paws. It’s her favourite way to wind down.

ellie snuggles

She keeps on going until she falls into a restful sleep, with her best friend by her side.

Of course, if this was all that happened the only thing wrong with the toys would be that they end up with a slightly egg-shaped (and crusty) head and are a bit smelly. But the trouble is, Myfie and Millie think that when something is ‘Ellie’s’ that means they get to tease her by trying to take it off her and play tug-o-war. No soft toy in the world is going to come out of that looking fresh as a daisy!

But for Ellie it’s not about looks, it’s about love… and you wouldn’t throw your babies in the bin would you? *sigh*

Does anybody else have a dog who likes to suckle/nurse their toys? Or what about that one friend you just can’t get rid of?

THIS IS A BLOG HOP! Black and White Sunday is lovingly hosted by Sugar and Nola … Thank You! ❀

nolasugar_bwbadge_pm
<!– start LinkyTools script –>

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

19 thoughts on “Black & White Sunday: Unconditional Woof

  1. AAAWW Ellie iz so sweet wif her furend Woof! Now as a kitteh wif no teefiez me not suckle at all….but me DOEZ have me furendz Ojo Crispin n Pinky Pig n Tanuja kitt n Petal kitteh n Angel da angel n Dot da Ladybug n BinkyMouse N TwinkleStar me Pony n Eesha Chinmaya me Ellyfant….dey iz ALL me furendz….
    BinkyMouse bin wif me da longest n dat mousie iz werse fer wear…butt me will not let her go…so Mum sumtimez givez her a bath in da sink n blow driez BinkyMouse πŸ˜‰
    Like ya said Miss Carrie ya not throwz da babiez in da bin…..
    Pleeze kiss Ellie fer me n Mum…we adorez her so much..
    Lub Nylablue n Mum too xxxxx

    • Aww I gave Ellie lots of kisses from you both and she sent lots of schlurps right on back again!
      Nylablue you have a LOT of friends… not that I am surprised because how could you not have? You are too adorable.
      The washing in the sink and blow-drying sounds like a great idea, maybe we should do that instead of subjecting them to the washing machine? hmm.
      Thanks as always for stopping by!
      Hugs, Carrie & Pups x

  2. Well then that is a ‘baby’ worth keeping πŸ™‚ Abbe has her grey ‘rabbe’ (rabbit) that has been destuffed and lost it’s eyes. Luckily I found another and the new ‘rabbe’ was as accepted as the old. Oskar had a ‘woolly man’ that was a sheepskin gingerbread man that I kept restuffing for his entire 12 1/2 years. I had it cremated with him. That was one devoted dog and his favorite toy!
    Marty’s Mom

    • Aww but what a lovely idea to have it go with him!! That’s a special friendship indeed. I’m pretty sure Woof won’t last 12 1/2 year… not if Myfie and Millie have anything to do with it!
      You are lucky too that Abbe didn’t notice any swap-over… I think Ellie COULD be fooled but she keeps them for so long when the time comes you can’t find another! Boo.
      Thanks for popping over, Marty’s Mom!
      Hugs, Carrie & Pups x

  3. I recently was forced to do a big toy box clean up and I tossed out some of the beyond repair toys that were basically just scraps of torn fabric. The next time we rummaged the box with Wilhelm to find something to tug or play with, he literally “sampled” each toy them sighed and walked away. I guess I threw out all of the good toys! Bad me.

    • Oh nooo and I bet you felt really bad, too? I think we should take it then as the more wear and tear, the more loved! Looks like a bad idea to send Woof away just now!
      Hugs, Carrie & Pups x

    • Yes! Do you think, Easy, that is where the saying ‘love you to pieces’ came from? I bet it is attributed to some bloke but it definitely sounds like a dog thing to me!!
      And thank you!! The black and white definitely helped with his bits that ‘used’ to be white though πŸ˜‰
      Hugs, Carrie & Pups x

  4. AAWWW Ellie iz so sweet…we just adorez her to peecez!
    Phankz fer da compleemint Miss Carrie…it iz lubly to haz so many furendz. Me bememburrz befur me came to Mum me had no furendz. me lived in a house wif 2 Hu’Manz butt dey did not lub me n da other kitteh wuud follow me eberywehre n harrass me n da poochie; well da poochie waz 70 poundz of COMPLEET CWAZY!!! Spencer wuud try n chase me n me wuud haz to smack hiz nose to change hiz mind…he chewed furniture n chairz n shredded blankiez n clothez…
    Me had no furendz n Mum purromised me when we came to here me wuud make furendz n… *wipez teer frum eye* n she waz rite n me iz so happy now….
    As fer da washin stuffiez Mum sayz bettur by hand n blow dryer…takez a bit more time butt da stuffiez do not get all rung out n shredded…
    Lub ❀ Nylablue ❀

Leave a Reply

