House of Pawed: A long-overdue update

shedpano

Since I wrote this post (House of Pawed) a long, long time ago work has been slow and steady in my Shedquarters. There’s been tears, lots of tantrums and plenty of unseen obstacles to overcome. I won’t bore you with them all, but should you ever have aspirations to take your work outside into a temporary building… think long and hard about it. It sounds easy, and is anything but.

I still have some things that need doing in there, but they are just little finishing touches I hope to add over time. For now it’s pretty much a blank canvas, but it IS finished and I AM able to be working in there… finally! Just in time for summer though, so if I had planned it that way I would be pretty happy with myself… I can pretend!

le shed

Yes, it’s pink and white… it does look a little like a Wendy House for a giants child. But I couldn’t leave it brown now could I?

Let’s look inside…

dooredt

Plenty of shelves and cubby holes with not very much in them… that won’t last!

deskedt

Neither will how clean and tidy this desk looks!

unitedt

The most important thing in this picture is the little Scottie, who watches over me!

tableedt

And this is another ‘action station’ where cutting, measuring and swearing will take place.

So, as you can see, it’s pretty plain for now and I am going to need to adorn my walls with inspiration and my floor with mess. But until then, the absolute BEST bit about my little space is that I get regular visits from my ins’paw’ational trio.

snifferdogs

Alright, they mainly come for a sniff about and to be nosy.
It’s a tiny little space but I also intend for them to have somewhere to settle in here with me if they like.

ellohello

Yes, Ellie… for you!

What do you think? Have I missed anything essential?

x

 

36 thoughts on “House of Pawed: A long-overdue update

    • Thank you so much, Caren! So lovely of you to say! It does have a really nice atmosphere in there too, I just wish I had thought about including a toilet! πŸ˜€
      Hugs, Carrie and Pups x

  1. It is wonderful! Love the moose! Maybe a couple of bright throw rugs for the kids to nap on would be the only thing I can think of for you because it is sooooo terrific!
    Marty’s Mom

    • Thank you so much, Marty’s Mom! That’s a brilliant idea as there isn’t much space for any beds in there and it gets pretty warm so a couple of little rugs would be perfect for them AND to brighten the place up!
      Hugs, Carrie and Pups x

  2. What a wonderful space you have created! Can see there are going to be hours and hours of fun and creativity in your little domain ad the furry ‘helpers’ will feel right at home. Well done.

    • Thank you so much, lovelies! that is EXACTLY what i hope will be going on in there!… and the furry helpers will be there as much as possible, exclusing soggy time though! eek!
      Hugs, Carrie and Pups x

  3. Love love love it πŸ™‚ it’s light bright and begging for the creative juices to flow πŸ™‚ Bravo what a great space you have created πŸ™‚ Hugs and loves Fozziemum xx

  4. Congratulations! Everything looks amazing. Has a very open and airy feeling. Love the different action stations β€” the desk, cutting/measuring area, and the storage unit. Love all the little touches including the three pups in the window β€” and the three real-life pups on the floor πŸ™‚ The orange and green color scheme looks terrific β€” and the green even matches the cutting/measuring mat. Everything has a very modern and efficient feeling. Love the windows with plenty of light at the important areas β€” a window right by the cutting/measuring area. And the bay window in front of the desk and sewing machine gives plenty of light and looks great. This looks like something straight from a magazine or website office/work space article. Wonder if it could get featured somewhere like that? Can really see a lot of hard work, time and energy has gone into making this such an attractive and functional workplace πŸ™‚

    • Aww, Bill! Thanks so much, how lovely of you! I never really thought about getting it featured anywhere, but i have had such lovely feedback… I wasn’t joking about the tempers and tantrums though, so seeing it completed and posting like this has been an eye-opener for me!
      Light, bright and distraction-free is exactly what I was aiming for… not including the pups of course, they are a welcome distraction any time!
      Thanks again, mister!
      Hugs, Carrie and Pups x

    • Thank you so much, Cindy! I have a sneaking suspicion that you are right, including them being in places where they are not supposed to be πŸ˜‰
      Hugs, Carrie and Pups x

  5. An amazing space! Love the light & white

    I have a sewing shed in early stages, its a frame & roof at the moment, waiting dryer weather to clad etc. Very interested to hear the problems you encountered, mine is a complete build from scratch rather than off the shelf, couldnt afford what I wanted that way.

    Enjoy your beautiful space x

    • Hi Fortiesgirl!

      Thanks so much!… I popped over to have a look at yours! MY how grand, it looks as though you could fit 3 of mine in there! Yes, I would have loved one of those swanky ‘garden offices’ you can buy all made up but they are so expensive! I did buy mine as a summerhouse from a local firm that came and put her up. But trust me, if I knew anybody or had the wherewithal to build it myself I would have definitely gone that way around it. It was the lack of knowledge of, well, just about everything that caused us problems… and YES waiting around for our lovely British weather to hold fair. You seem to be on top of things though!

      I am excited for you, once it’s done you will be bursting with pride!

      Carrie πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Black & White Sunday: Team Work | pawedblog

Leave a Reply

