Doggy Style: Happy ‘National Dress Up Your Pet Day, 2014’

myfie and ellie wiggy

So, hopefully I will make this post while it actually still IS National Dress Up Your pet Day. Technically it will be anyway where the celebration is based, since from the research I have done it is a special day in America and sadly (as of yet) we haven’t caught on here in the UK. But why should that mean we can’t join in, right? Are you with me?

National Dress Up Your Pet Day (for those of you who didn’t know, like me, up until an hour ago), was founded in 2009 by Colleen Paige who is an L.A. based, celebrity dog trainer and behaviorist. You can read more about her and what she does for animals here: http://www.colleenpaige.com/ But,in summary, it’s a day designed for fun and raising money with your gorgeous pooches. The day encourages participants to not just follow all the latest canine couture styles, but get creative with their own costume ideas.

It sounds just perfect to me! I might just have to start campaigning for it to become an ‘International’ day too! What do you think? January is a great time too, since it’s at least a little nippy for most of us; furry or not.

Still, not having a particular day never did stop us here at Pawed having dress-up fun! My three tiny tearaways absolutely LOVE having their photograph taken, whilst adorned in all of their finery. So, this seemed like the perfect time to share just a few of those images we have enjoyed taking over the years. I think we could compete with the best of them, but I am a little biased.

Dress up Collage

Had you heard of the day? I know a lot of our friends out there are American and we would love to hear more (especially if we are about to start campaigning!…ahem). If you are based elsewhere, what do you think to this? Do you dress up your dog for fun, or when it’s cold and they need an extra layer? Or, and I know there are lots out there, does your pet dislike having anything on them that wasn’t naturally grown there? We, all four of us, would LOVE to hear your thoughts on this one. If you have the time, please leave us a comment.

 

12 thoughts on “Doggy Style: Happy ‘National Dress Up Your Pet Day, 2014’

  1. Love all these wonderful photos of Myfie, Ellie and Millie all dressed up! I actually didn’t know much about National Dress Up Your Pet Day before reading this. Sounds like a great way to help promote pet awareness and welfare!

  2. Fab photos!

    I hadn’t heard of Dress Up Your Pet Day until a friend texted and told me that her mum had told her about it! I definitely agree it should become an International Day šŸ™‚

    Millie & Mabel feel the cold when it’s really chilly so they like to have their jumpers or coats on at such times. They also have little fleecy PJ type suits for when they’ve had a bath and need to dry off a bit more. They both seem more than happy to have an extra layer now and again – I wouldn’t do it otherwise šŸ™‚

    They also have Halloween costumes… and Christmas outfits….oh and Millie will also pose in something ridiculous if I ask her to… Mabel not so much hehehe!

    • Thank so much, Sue! šŸ™‚

      YES! We should get a twitter campaign going for next year!

      Oh my gosh! I love that Millie & Mabel have PJ’s, how adorable!? We have tops that they sleep in when it’s really cold, but not proper PJ’s. The rule of thumb is, if it hits temperatures below freezing, the tops go on! They are so excited about it too!

      Good on Millie for posing in something that makes her look silly! She sounds like she would get on great with our guys! xXx

  3. Hey, I have a quick question I wanted to ask you about your blog, do you think you could send me an email when you get this? Thanks! Tiffany
    tpham(at)dropcam(dot)com

Leave a Reply

