Feeling (P)roody

Ronnie

This gorgeous little ball of fur is Ronnie, my close friend Claire’s new pup. He is a Toy Poodle cross Border Collie which makes him a… *drum roll*… BORDOODLE! …*tish* … Anyway, more specifically it just makes him gorgeous and I had the pleasure of meeting him on Friday night. Hurray! Who doesn’t love a cuddle with a puppy? That sheer excitement they exude for somebody new to play with, all the cooing and fussing they get. It must be brilliant being a puppy actually; there’s almost nobody who isn’t pleased to see you, said people delight and lash praise upon you for doing the simplest of things that you were going to do anyway – like have a wee on some paper, and they get even more excitable if you do it outside!!, where they used super powers to put you there, just at the right time! Everything is rewarded with treats and the world is an unexplored playground. When I grow up, I want to be a puppy!

Ahem, anyway so Claire opened the door and pitter-pattering across her hallway comes this tiny red and white ball of fur. You just forget how small they are don’t you? His skinny little tail was going nineteen to the dozen, and I just wanted to steal him right there and then! But I had to settle with loads of kisses and cuddles instead 🙂 He’s such a beautiful shade of red too (that bit comes from his Poodle dad apparently) and his fur is still extra soft and fuzzy in the way only puppy fur is! … Ahh! We spent a lot of time talking about training and things to avoid; Claire asking me if that’s what I do with my three and me having to admit that I try, but Millie does whatever the hell she wants (most of the time).

The trouble is, you have this lovely romantic vision of what it’s like to have a puppy don’t you? and then the time comes and you realise that it’s actually really hard work! But even knowing that, having done it several times; you soon forget again and only remember the lovely bits. I would LOVE another puppy, and spending time with little Ronnie only confirmed that. Nothing I saw put me off, I was hoping all the toilet training nightmares would flash back and banish the idea from my head… but nope.

For now I just have to settle with remembering my three tearaways as babies… and hoping that Claire doesn’t mind seeing my face pressed against her window with a longing look in my eyes!

Here are some shots of my little munchkins as babies … excuse the quality, some of them were taken in olden times!

2011-01-16_1295155460

Baby Myfie, all eyes and ears!

2011-01-17_1295231521

Baby Ellie, this was her only pose!

2011-09-05_1315184564

Baby Millie, a diva even at this age!

Do you ever get that proody (puppy broody, obviously) feeling too? I can’t be on my own! What’s the best and worst things you remember about bringing up your beasts and does anybody have any super tips for Claire? I don’t think I was much help, just fawning all over her new addition!

6 thoughts on “Feeling (P)roody

  1. OMD! I just love puppies–and there is nothing better than puppy bellies. Unless it’s puppy breathe. Or puppy kisses. You’re right; it’s dangerous. With 3 dogs and 4 cats, I can have no more puppies. I’ll just have to figure out a way to get my puppy fix.

    –Woofs (and purrs) from Life with Dogs and Cats

    • Haha. Oh it’s so unfair isn’t it? I think puppy snuggles should be available on prescription! You have 4 cats on top of my tally though, and I have to say I fell in love with Tucker just by seeing his pic!… if you need to make the space? 😉
      hehe, thanks so much for stopping by!
      Hugs, Carrie (Myfie, Ellie and Millie) x

Leave a Reply

